top of page

My very fictional, very premature bid list


It's no big secret that I want to go into diplomacy. It's been a dream of mine since I was 10, and now that I'm in college I've started (albeit foolishly) thinking about the specifics.

Inspired by this blog post, written while the FSO was in his first tour and thinking ahead to the second, here is my list of preferences in posts, as of December 10th, 2018.

These are my general preferences, given that FSOs general switch off between "hardship" posts and the more cushy positions. I have to say, I grew up at a hardship post (without the benefits of being an Embassy worker like pay incentives, security, commissary, shipping privileges), so I'm not too concerned about my ability to adjust

You’ll observe some of my general preferences:

In general, I’ve placed the Middle East, North Africa, South East Asia, and Eastern Europe above all else. Followed by Southern Europe, Horn of Africa, South Asia, South America. Anything that is described in the real post reports as an "island paradise" is pretty low, unless there's something I find interesting going on there, politically.

My priorities are as follows

  1. Is something political going on there that I find interesting?

  2. Is the language spoken there a language that I speak or would be interested in learning? This also will factor into Language Designated Posts and the language requirement

  3. Is it a post where there is demand? Would I be needed? (For example, I am envisioning not having children if/when I join up, so is the location a no-go for family)

  4. $$$$ (Student loan repayment, hardship pay, danger pay)

  5. Is it an embassy, a mission, or a consulate? On the whole, I would prefer embassies, mostly because I prefer living in capital cities.

  6. Have I visited or lived there, and did I like it?

I’ll also note that I have included a couple of posts that don’t currently have diplomatic missions, in the hopes that they will be opened or re-opened in the next decade. Call me an optimist.

Finally, I want to put this into perspective. For those who aren’t familiar, the Foreign Service Bidding system works so that you take the posts available (not necessarily this entire list, it has to be boiled down based on what positions are available) and you split them into “high” “middle” and “low.” You can still be sent to your low-rated posts, and you still have to be willing to go to them.

For me, it is difficult to demarcate where high, middle, and low begin and end on this list. Regardless, I’ll try:

I would say my high rated posts are post number 1(Sana’a, Yemen) until number 101 (Chiang Mai, Thailand). I have moved this line 9 times. It’s quite a few highs, but of course any actual bid list would take into consideration which posts are open, and which ones fit with my cone, narrowing the lists.

101 (Chiang Mai, Thailand) until 158 (Tokyo, Japan) are my mediums. These are all places I would be excited and interested to live in, but don't necessarily fit in with my professional interests and visions.

Everything after that is my lows. All places I have either visited (most of which I have loved), and decided I don't want to live there long-term, AND I don't find these posts politically interesting, to my knowledge. For example, I know and love Western Europe and Canada, and would be interested in missions to International Organizations there, but in general I don't think I would be challenged in the ways I want to be at most of the consulates.

I didn't include either of the US posts - DC or New York. I would be ready and willing to serve in either at any time, if the bureau and office placement really suited my interests (e.g.- at the UN or with the Office of International Media).

Subject to change, and guided only by my current wishes, interests, and desires, here it is:

Highs: (In yellow because it's my favorite color)

  1. Sana'a, Yemen (when re-opened)

  2. Erbil, Iraq

  3. Baghdad, Iraq

  4. Kabul, Afghanistan

  5. Damascus, Syria (when re-opened)

  6. Tripoli, Libya (when re-opened)

  7. Khartoum, Sudan

  8. Juba, S Sudan

  9. US Mission to ASEAN Jakarta, Indonesia

  10. Jakarta, Indonesia

  11. Cairo, Egypt

  12. Skopje, Macedonia

  13. Beirut, Lebanon

  14. Amman, Jordan

  15. Ankara, Turkey

  16. Istanbul, Turkey

  17. Rabat, Morocco

  18. Islamabad, Pakistan

  19. Dhaka, Bangladesh

  20. Tunis, Tunisia

  21. Kuala Lampur, Malaysia

  22. New Delhi, India

  23. Colombo, Sri Lanka

  24. Doha, Qatar

  25. Basrah, Iraq

  26. Jerusalem

  27. Dubai, UAE

  28. Abu Dhabi, UAE

  29. Kuwait City, Kuwait

  30. Asmara, Eritrea

  31. Djibouti

  32. Muscat, Oman

  33. Bamako, Mali

  34. UN Mission New York, USA

  35. Havana, Cuba

  36. Rangoon, Burma

  37. Manila, Philippines

  38. Algiers, Algeria

  39. Karachi, Pakistan

  40. Lahore, Pakistan

  41. Peshawar, Pakistan

  42. Riyadh, Saudi Arabia

  43. Dili, Timor-Leste

  44. Yerevan, Armenia

  45. Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam

  46. Bangkok, Thailand

  47. US Mission to Somalia (prev. Nairobi, Kenya, now reopening in Mogadishu, Somalia)

  48. US Mission to the African Union

  49. Addis Ababa, Ethiopa

  50. Kampala, Uganda

  51. Kigali, Rwanda

  52. Nairobi, Kenya

  53. Conakry, Guineau

  54. Ljubljana, Slovenia

  55. Hanoi, Vietnam

  56. Kolkatta, India

  57. Phenom Penh, Cambodia

  58. Vientiane, Laos

  59. Zagreb, Croatia

  60. Belgrade, Serbia

  61. Sarajevo, Bosnia & Herzegovina

  62. Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania

  63. Accra, Ghana

  64. Free Town, Sierra Leone

  65. Malabo, Equatorial Guinea

  66. Mumbai, India

  67. Manama, Bahrain

  68. Tirana, Albania

  69. Pristina, Kosovo

  70. Ashgabat, Turkmenistan

  71. Dushanbe, Tajikistan

  72. Brunei

  73. Ulaan Baator, Mongolia

  74. Abujua, Nigeria

  75. Banjul, The Gambia

  76. Bangui, CAR

  77. Luanda, Angola

  78. Rome, Italy

  79. Port Moreseby, Papua New Guinea

  80. Abidjan, Coite D'Ivoire

  81. Lima, Peru

  82. Santiago, Chile

  83. Bogota, Columbia

  84. Caracas, Venezuela

  85. Montevideo, Uruguay

  86. Mbabane, Swaziland

  87. Buenos Aires, Argentina

  88. Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

  89. Maputo, Mozambique

  90. Antananarivo, Madagascar

  91. Kinshasa, DRC

  92. Brazzaville, Republic of Congo

  93. La Paz, Bolivia

  94. Florence, Italy

  95. Tblisi, Georgia

  96. Bratislava, Slovakia

  97. Sofia, Bulgaria

  98. Athens, Greece

  99. Podgorica, Montenegro

  100. Warsaw, Poland

  101. Chiang Mai, Thailand

  102. Kyiv, Ukraine

Mediums: (in Rust, because it's my second favorite color)

  1. Taipei, Taiwan

  2. Hyderabad, India

  3. Quito, Ecuador

  4. Chennai, India

  5. Windhoek, Namibia

  6. Lome, Togo

  7. Libreville, Gabon

  8. Lisbon, Portugal

  9. Paramiribo, Suriname

  10. Madrid, Spain

  11. Chisinau, Moldova

  12. Katmandu, Nepal

  13. Berlin, Germany

  14. Paris, France

  15. The Hague, Netherlands

  16. Kingston, Jamaica

  17. Niamey, Niger

  18. Monrovia, Liberia

  19. Budapest, Hungary

  20. Mexico City, Mexico

  21. Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan

  22. Lusaka, Zambia

  23. Maseru, Lesotho

  24. Micronesia, Marshall Islands, Palau, Samoa, Fiji,

  25. Vienna, Austria

  26. Baku, Azerbaijan

  27. Tel Aviv, Israel

  28. Nicosia, Cyprus

  29. Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago

  30. Naples, Italy

  31. Brussels, Belgium

  32. Prague, Czech Republic

  33. Panama City, Panama

  34. Pretoria, South Africa

  35. Dakar, Senegal

  36. Luanda, Angola

  37. Cotonou, Benin

  38. Harare, Zimbabwe

  39. Ougadougou, Burkina Faso

  40. Gabourone, Botswana

  41. Port Louis, Mauritius

  42. Guyaquil, Ecuador

  43. Belmopan, Belize

  44. Bridgetown, Barbados

  45. Nassau, the Bahamas

  46. San Jose, Costa Rica

  47. Brasilia, Brazil

  48. Tashkent, Uzbekistan

  49. San Salvador, El Salvador

  50. Asuncion, Paraguay

  51. Tegucigalpa, Honduras

  52. Guatemala City, Guatemala

  53. Managua, Nicaragua

  54. Singapore

  55. Hong Kong

  56. Tokyo, Japan

Lows: (in Sage, because it's my third favorite color (I'm terrible, I'm aware))

  1. Minsk, Belarus

  2. Marseille, France

  3. Frankfurt, Germany

  4. Dusseldorf, Germany

  5. Hamburg, Germany

  6. Leipzig, Germany

  7. Wellington, New Zealand

  8. Milan, Italy

  9. Valetta, Malta

  10. Amsterdam, Netherlands

  11. Dublin, Ireland

  12. Copenhagen, Denmark

  13. Helsinki, Finland

  14. Lyon, France

  15. Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic

  16. Oslo, Norway

  17. Recife, Brazil

  18. Georgetown, Guyana

  19. Munich, Germany

  20. Hamilton, Bermuda

  21. The Holy See, Vatican City

  22. Strasbourg, France

  23. Stockholm, Sweden

  24. Quito, Ecuador

  25. Barcelona, Spain

  26. Seoul, South Korea

  27. Beijing, China

  28. Switzerland – All

  29. London, England

  30. Thessaloniki, Greece

  31. Bourdeaux, France

  32. Rennes, France

  33. Toulouse, France

  34. Reykjavik, Iceland

  35. Luxembourg

  36. Shanghai, China

  37. Japan - other

  38. Mexico – other

  39. Vilnius, Lithuania

  40. Talinn, Estonia

  41. St. Petersburg, Russia

  42. Canada, All

  43. Australia, All

bottom of page