top of page

my constantly updating bucket list

As I work on post about my travels, I can't help but think about all the fun things I want to do and places I want to see next. So I thought I would put my fingers to the keyboard on a quick post- my bucket list!

I'm usually the type to take in opportunities as they come. I rarely plan, rarely make lists, and rarely dive deep into itineraries and details more than a week or two in advance. But with my recent drastic increase independence, I feel like now is a good time to start.

I've never had a bucket list before, but I figure it's better late than never. My goal is to come back to this post and mark off the places I've been and the things I've done, as well as to add new adventures I come across.

So, without further ado, here is my bucket list:

1. Petra, Jordan and Wadi Rum - This list isn't meant to be in any particular order, but if it was, Petra would definitely be at the very tippy top. I will definitely sob.

2. Take a trip on an trans-oceanic cargo ship. I cry watching videos of these. Maybe I'll try to get a job as a dishwasher on one of these one day.

3. Iceland - I feel like putting a whole country on this list is disingenuous, but for real, I want to do the whole 7 day layover, road-tripping, northern lights experience in Iceland.

4. Scuba dive with whale sharks in Oman - this has been a wild dream of mine ever since I got my divers license eight years ago (has it really been that long? Holy sh-)

X 22-23/10/2017

5. Vatican City - I love history and I love obelisks and I will cry (Note: I did cry, we got tipsy and then decided to walk the circumference of the walls of the Vatican).

X 30/10/2018

5. San Marino - Where better to fully experience the contrived, imaginary concept of the nation? (I sure had this one correct - didn't realize we were there until the gas got cheaper and the roads got worse. Stunningly weird little place)

X 29/10/2017

6. Barcelona, Spain - Another pretty one. Bonus points to me if I stay on an Airbnb boat, because I love those. 3 bonus points if I go to a football game, because I hate those.

7. Dublin, Ireland - Bars and probably some other stuff- what's not to love?

X 2/11/2018

8. Upper Austria - I mean, look at this place. A picture is worth so much more than a thousand of my inexperienced words. (The hills were totally alive with the sound of music. I checked.)

9. Amman, Jordan - Preferably with a UN internship or Arabic study program, but I'm not picky!

10. Beirut, Lebanon - I find Lebanon endlessly fascinating, and would love to see this city!

X 6/5/2018

11. Istanbul, Turkey - For obvious, corny reasons.

X 16/4/2018

12. Venice, Italy - I mean, I need to see it before it sinks. There's a lot of good critique by Venicians about how tourism has ruined the city, but I insist that I'm not like other tourists.

X 3/10/2018

13. Nuremberg, Germany - Historical reasons

14. Berlin, Germany - I watched a documentary on rooftop gardens and now I have to see one

15. White Cliffs of Dover, UK

16. Edinburgh, UK

17. Cape Town, South Africa

18. Helsinki

X

19. Bruges, Belgium

20. Prague, Czech Republic

21. Athens, Greece

22. Bhutan

23. New Dehli, India

24. Grand Canyon, USA

25. Sky diving

X 3/3/2018

26. Florence, Italy - I love architecture, but more than that I specifically love domes.

X 4/3/2018

27. Ljubliana, Slovenia (or maybe all of Slovenia)

28. Amsterdam, Netherlands - the only thing I like more than boats is boats in cities (though ships have my heart)

X 2/11/2017

29. Budapest, which everyone tells me is amazing!

X 03/2017

30. Cuba - amazing. I'm so sad that they revoked the travel visas so I can't revisit this beautiful and fascinating country.

31. Denali National Park, Alaska

32. Alexandria, Egypt- Ruins of the library might make me cry.

X 27/3/2018

33. Carthage, Tunisia - I used to be obsessed with this city and its history

bottom of page