top of page

Back in the US, but not home YET.

I am exhausted. And not in a jet-lag way. I've worked out a system that allows me to kick jet-lag right in the ass when I need to. The trick is to sleep a bit over the amount of sleep you would have if you were just going about your life, by the time you land. I landed at around 2 pm in New York, so I slept leaving Morocco, caught some sleep in Paris, and just a bit on the flight from Paris to New York.

It's not a perfect system, I'll admit that. After my mom picked me up from the airport in NYC, we drove like four hours to our first college we'd be visiting: Cornell, where my grandfather went.

Because we never really figured out how to chat and call while I was in Morocco, I hadn't talked to her properly for six weeks. So when I got the opportunity of this four hour drive, I took it. I told her every single thing that happened to me in Morocco, and by the time we had checked into our hotel in upstate New York, and gotten a seat at Apple Bees, I was about to fall asleep in my Mac n Cheese w/ bacon bits (the most quintessentially American And Not Moroccan dish I saw on the menu).

Here's our first picture together in 6 weeks! Her caption on facebook: "Got her back!"

Over the course of the next few days we made our way through all the schools I had an interest in on the East Coast, and got caught up with each other's lives.

I don't really want to go into detail about the college visits, because I think it's different for every one visiting these schools. Some hits, some misses.

Here's the college trip, with descriptions, if you're interested!

bottom of page