top of page

Seattle: Music

Bumbershoot 2016, my last time at the festival, was amazing. I only went for one day this year, which I feel was the right decision because I picked a great day with acts I really liked, and I only had to put my body through hell for 12 hours instead of doing that 3 days in a row.

Here's the thing about festivals like Bumbershoot: the only real way to do it is to get there at 9 am, make friends in line, rush in, get to the front by 12, wait for the acts to start, and don't leave. Bring candy in your purse/fanny pack. No water, for that you will rely on the kindness of others. If you bring in a water bottle, you will drink it and need to pee, losing your spot and ruining the whole process. You stand in place from noon until 11 pm.

It's hell, but it's fun hell, you know?

Death Cab for Cutie ended the night with a bang (literally, I was banged against the front fence of the venue over and over again)

Barns Courtney (never heard of him but pretended to know every single lyric of his 3 songs, because the crowd was filled with G-Eazy fans who were just waiting for him to finish his set and were looking bored and rude)

Tame Impala (Amazing. Fantastic. Killed It. I love them.)

bottom of page