top of page

Getting there is... 2% of the journey

You know what I've just realized? This is my first time going to Africa, ever. From what I've read, Moroccans don't really consider themselves African, but at least I'm hitting a milestone, geographically. Now all I need to get to is South America (speaking of the nexus between opinion and geography, did you know that many people think it's just America, not North and South?) and Antartica.

For some of the students with NSLI-Y, this is their first time leaving the US, or going somewhere besides Mexico and Canada. I can't imagine a more exciting first trip abroad!!

Taking off from CDG in Paris.

On the first night in Rabat, we landed in Casablanca at around 5 pm, and into Rabat proper after 7, so after we got settled into the hotel we went out as a group to dinner.

Here's what the hotel looks like, featuring a classic Moroccan riyadh:

(Relaxing in my Thailand Pants - who knew they'd take me this far?)

bottom of page